Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana Eligibility Criteria

The Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana or PMAY is a subsidy-based housing scheme that operates to provide housing to all eligible beneficiaries by the year 2022. The Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana eligibility requirements are simple, and individuals can meet them with ease to apply for subsidy benefits for the purchase the home of their choice.

Below are some pertinent details related to the scheme and the essential PMAY eligibility criteria users must meet to qualify for associated benefits.

About the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana Scheme

PMAY is a government-backed housing scheme that makes home buying affordable and convenient for first-time homebuyers who fall under the four primary components. Operating through its Urban and Rural segments, the scheme reaches out to all locations in the country with its Credit Linked Subsidy Scheme for affordable house ownership.

Launched in 2015, applicants can benefit from the simple PMAY eligibility criteria and secure their places as beneficiaries under the PMAY list.

Apply for a home loan with a registered Primary Lending Institution (PLI) after your selection to avail of the PMAY interest subsidy.


Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana Eligibility Criteria

Beneficiaries who satisfy the eligibility for Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana are placed under any one of the following four categories for subsidy distribution, basis their profile.

  • EWS or Economically Weaker Section

  • LIG or Lower Income Group

  • Middle Income Group I or MIG-I

  • Middle Income Group-II or MIG-II

Based on their economic strata, other minority categories and women are also placed under this scheme for subsidiary distribution, including applicants from Scheduled Caste, Scheduled Tribe, Other Backward Castes.

They can be further grouped into LIG/EWS beneficiaries and MIG beneficiaries to better identify their eligibility for PMAY. Here’s a look.

The following parameters define an individual or a household’s Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana loan eligibility.

  • ​The individual/household must not have any pucca house to their name.

  • Property co-ownership must be held by a female member of the family for them to meet the Pradhan Mantri Yojana home loan eligibility.

  • Applicants cannot have a history of seeking housing scheme assistance from other government schemes.

  • The selected property must be located in one of the statutory towns identified under the 2011 Census or any updated planning area adjacent to them.

Few other essential parameters to identify beneficiary categories and their Awas Yojana scheme eligibility requirements are tabulated below.

Total household income per annum Rs.12 lakh Rs.9 lakh Rs.6 lakh Rs.6 lakh
Maximum loan tenor for subsidy calculation 20 years 20 years 20 years 20 years
Maximum carpet area of the dwelling unit (In sq. m.) 200 160 60 30
Maximum loan amount Rs.12 lakh to Rs.18 lakh Rs.6 lakh to Rs.2 lakh Rs.3 lakh to Rs.6 lakh Up to Rs.3 lakh
Interest rate subsidy available on home loans 3% 4% 6.5% 6.5%

An applicant’s eligibility can also be evaluated based on the following Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana criteria.

  • Eligibility for PMAY Gramin Scheme: EWS, LIG, and those identified Below Poverty Line

  • Eligibility for PMAY Urban scheme: EWS, LIG, MIG-I, and MIG-II

  • Eligibility for PMAY CLSS: LIG and MIG


Other Factors in the PMAY Eligibility Criteria

  • Beneficiaries must purchase or invest in new house construction to avail benefits under PMAY
  • Beneficiaries must receive possession of their under-construction houses within three years of Home Loan disbursal, to avail the benefits under PMAY


Factors that Affect the PMAY Subsidy Rate

The subsidy an individual or a household stands to get, after they are approved under the scheme depends on the following factors.

  • CLSS Beneficiary Category

    The beneficiary category determines the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana eligibility for subsidy for applicants. It dictates the maximum loan amount available for a subsidy, maximum tenure applicable, and the total subsidy amount available for the category.

  • Home Loan Amount Availed

    The home loan amount sanctioned also determines the rate of subsidy offered, provided it is under the loan cap of the CLSS categories.

  • Tenor Selected

     The repayment tenor the applicant selects also affects the subsidy rate, wherein longer the tenor, higher the subsidy rate.

  • Household Income

    A beneficiary with a high income receives a reduced subsidy on home loan interest.

Home Loan EMI Calculator

Calculate your Home Loan EMI

Loan AmountRs.

Rs. 1 LakhRs. 15 Crore


1 Year40 years

Interest Rate%


Your EMI is Rs. 0


Total Interest

Rs. 0.00


Principal Amount

Rs. 0.00

View Repayment Schedule Apply Now

Repayment schedule


Steps to Track Your PMAY Application Status

Individuals who satisfy the eligibility criteria for a PMAY home loan can check their PMAY application status via the official website, using the following methods.

  1. Through Assessment ID

    The ‘Assessment ID’ is available as a tracking option on the designated page. Select it and proceed to provide the required ID and registered mobile number to view your PMAY application status.

  2. Via Personal Details

    Users can also choose to track their application status via personal details, such as their name, father’s name, district, and mobile number. Once you have entered these details, the application status will be visible on the screen.

Disclaimer: PMAY subsidy scheme for MIG I & II category is not extended by regulatory. Category wise scheme validity is mentioned below:

  • EWS & LIG category is valid up to 31st March 2022

  • MIG I & MIG II category was valid up to 31st March 2021

Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana Eligibility_PAC

People also consider






eHome Loan
Online Home Loan

Instant home loan approval at just

Rs. 1,999

Rs. 5,999


Pre-Approved Offer